King James I Academy Bishop AucklandFerryhill School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland and Ferryhill School are secondary schools.
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Ferryhill School scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average). King James I Academy Bishop Auckland is ahead on our composite score.
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland was judged the expected standard and Ferryhill School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 43.9 for King James I Academy Bishop Auckland and 41.5 for Ferryhill School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at King James I Academy Bishop Auckland (50.0 in 2021-22, 43.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Ferryhill School (46.3 in 2021-22, 41.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Bishop AucklandKing James I Academy Bishop Auckland | FerryhillFerryhill School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D54/100Stronger figure | D50/100 | |
| Local ranking | 20th of 30 in County Durham Stronger figure | 24th of 30 in County Durham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 926 | 731 | |
| Capacity | 956 | 915 | |
| Location | Bishop Auckland, DL14 7JZ | Ferryhill, DL17 8RW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 43.9 Stronger figure | 41.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 28.7% Stronger figure | 24.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.4% Stronger figure | 52.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 22.4% | 31.2% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.53 Stronger figure | 3.21 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 143 | 125 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 44 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 31.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 7.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 926 | 731 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 51.1% | 46.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.9% | 1.6% | |
| SEN support | 21.1% | 21.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.3% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.1% Stronger figure | 9.4% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.5% | 30.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King James I Academy Bishop Auckland
Ferryhill School
Full profiles: King James I Academy Bishop Auckland · Ferryhill School