King Ethelbert SchoolUrsuline College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
King Ethelbert School and Ursuline College are secondary schools.
King Ethelbert School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Ursuline College scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Ursuline College is ahead on our composite score.
King Ethelbert School was judged Good and Ursuline College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 36.8 for King Ethelbert School and 36.1 for Ursuline College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at King Ethelbert School (40.4 in 2021-22, 36.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Ursuline College (41.7 in 2021-22, 36.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirchingtonKing Ethelbert School | Westgate-on-SeaUrsuline College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D49/100 | D50/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 71st of 102 in Kent | 69th of 102 in Kent Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 794 | 937 | |
| Capacity | 870 | 763 | |
| Location | Birchington, CT7 9BL | Westgate-on-Sea, CT8 8LX | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 36.8 Stronger figure | 36.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 22.0% Stronger figure | 20.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 39.0% | 44.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 34.8% Stronger figure | 27.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.10 Stronger figure | 3.03 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 141 | 147 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 30 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 24.0 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | D+ | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 794 | 937 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 35.1% | 37.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.9% | 12.9% | |
| SEN support | 24.7% | 9.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.9% | 1.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.3% Stronger figure | 11.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.6% Stronger figure | 34.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King Ethelbert School
Ursuline College
Full profiles: King Ethelbert School · Ursuline College