King Edward VI Sheldon Heath AcademyLyndon School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy and Lyndon School are secondary schools.
King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Lyndon School scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average). Lyndon School is ahead on our composite score.
King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy was judged Good and Lyndon School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 47.4 for King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy and 49.7 for Lyndon School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy (47.0 in 2021-22, 47.4 in 2024-25) and has risen at Lyndon School (46.8 in 2021-22, 49.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirminghamKing Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy | SolihullLyndon School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C60/100 | C65/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 39th of 89 in Birmingham | 5th of 15 in Solihull | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,192 | 1,184 | |
| Capacity | 1,350 | 1,380 | |
| Location | Birmingham, B26 2RZ | Solihull, B92 8EJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 47.4 | 49.7 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 45.1% | 48.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 70.1% | 72.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 17.2% | 70.2% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.96 | 4.57 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 204 | 242 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 32 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.5 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,192 | 1,184 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 55.6% | 32.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 26.8% | 25.3% | |
| SEN support | 16.5% | 16.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.6% | 1.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.9% | 7.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.3% | 19.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy
Lyndon School
Full profiles: King Edward VI Sheldon Heath Academy · Lyndon School