King Charles I SchoolBaxter College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Kidderminster.
Summary of the comparison
King Charles I School and Baxter College are secondary schools in Kidderminster.
King Charles I School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Baxter College scores 41 out of 100 (grade D, below average). King Charles I School is ahead on our composite score.
King Charles I School was judged Good and Baxter College was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.0 for King Charles I School and 36.6 for Baxter College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at King Charles I School (49.4 in 2021-22, 44.0 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Baxter College (36.4 in 2021-22, 36.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | KidderminsterKing Charles I School | KidderminsterBaxter College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C56/100Stronger figure | D41/100 | |
| Local ranking | 24th of 45 in Worcestershire Stronger figure | 38th of 45 in Worcestershire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,128 | 779 | |
| Capacity | 1,304 | 1,068 | |
| Location | Kidderminster, DY10 1XA | Kidderminster, DY11 5PQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.0 Stronger figure | 36.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 35.5% Stronger figure | 24.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 56.8% Stronger figure | 45.1% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 72.7% Stronger figure | 9.7% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.05 Stronger figure | 3.09 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 183 | 113 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 48 | 23 | |
| A-level average points | 31.5 Stronger figure | 21.4 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | D | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.1 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 11.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,128 | 779 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 28.0% | 37.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 8.8% | 5.4% | |
| SEN support | 11.9% | 16.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 3.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.4% Stronger figure | 12.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King Charles I School
Baxter College
Full profiles: King Charles I School · Baxter College