John Masefield High SchoolDyson Perrins CofE Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
John Masefield High School and Dyson Perrins CofE Academy are secondary schools.
John Masefield High School scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Dyson Perrins CofE Academy scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average). Dyson Perrins CofE Academy is ahead on our composite score.
John Masefield High School was judged Good and Dyson Perrins CofE Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.2 for John Masefield High School and 43.8 for Dyson Perrins CofE Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at John Masefield High School (47.9 in 2021-22, 46.2 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Dyson Perrins CofE Academy (43.2 in 2021-22, 43.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LedburyJohn Masefield High School | MalvernDyson Perrins CofE Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D54/100 | C55/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 15 in Herefordshire | 26th of 45 in Worcestershire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 841 | 615 | |
| Capacity | 930 | 1,040 | |
| Location | Ledbury, HR8 2HF | Malvern, WR14 1WD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.2 Stronger figure | 43.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 38.9% Stronger figure | 37.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.8% Stronger figure | 64.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 82.6% Stronger figure | 38.1% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.43 Stronger figure | 3.78 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 149 | 126 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 43 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 28.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 28.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 5.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 841 | 615 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.8% | 36.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 8.6% | 5.7% | |
| SEN support | 19.9% | 21.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.1% | 8.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.1% Stronger figure | 11.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.4% Stronger figure | 29.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
John Masefield High School
Dyson Perrins CofE Academy
Full profiles: John Masefield High School · Dyson Perrins CofE Academy