Jane Austen CollegeHewett Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Norwich.
Summary of the comparison
Jane Austen College and Hewett Academy are secondary schools in Norwich.
Jane Austen College scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Hewett Academy scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average). Jane Austen College is ahead on our composite score.
Jane Austen College was judged Outstanding and Hewett Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.7 for Jane Austen College and 46.5 for Hewett Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Jane Austen College (49.9 in 2021-22, 53.7 in 2024-25) and has risen at Hewett Academy (34.6 in 2021-22, 46.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | NorwichJane Austen College | NorwichHewett Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B71/100Stronger figure | C63/100 | |
| Local ranking | 4th of 53 in Norfolk Stronger figure | 11th of 53 in Norfolk | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Free schools | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,101 | 488 | |
| Capacity | 1,100 | 750 | |
| Location | Norwich, NR3 1DD | Norwich, NR1 2PL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.7 Stronger figure | 46.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 64.2% Stronger figure | 46.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 75.6% Stronger figure | 63.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 80.1% Stronger figure | 68.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.25 Stronger figure | 4.39 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 176 | 73 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 101 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 40.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 39.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 11.9% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,101 | 488 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 29.3% | 37.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 21.9% | 29.1% | |
| SEN support | 9.7% | 26.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.0% | 9.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.9% | 5.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 17.3% | 14.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Jane Austen College
Hewett Academy
Full profiles: Jane Austen College · Hewett Academy