Iceni Secondary AcademyDownham Market Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Iceni Secondary Academy and Downham Market Academy are secondary schools.
Iceni Secondary Academy scores 45 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Downham Market Academy scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Downham Market Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Iceni Secondary Academy was judged the expected standard and Downham Market Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.0 for Iceni Secondary Academy and 43.8 for Downham Market Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Iceni Secondary Academy (40.6 in 2021-22, 39.0 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Downham Market Academy (46.9 in 2021-22, 43.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ThetfordIceni Secondary Academy | Downham MarketDownham Market Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D45/100 | C56/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 50th of 53 in Norfolk | 33rd of 53 in Norfolk Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 582 | 1,333 | |
| Capacity | 745 | 1,567 | |
| Location | Thetford, IP26 4PE | Downham Market, PE38 9LL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.0 | 43.8 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 37.9% Stronger figure | 35.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 56.9% | 59.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 42.2% Stronger figure | 23.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.48 | 3.87 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 116 | 201 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 62.0% | Not reported | 61.0% |
| At higher standard | 8.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 101.0 | Not reported | 104.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 36 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 32.5 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 33.8 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 4.2% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 582 | 1,333 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.4% | 26.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.0% | 6.3% | |
| SEN support | 21.1% | 13.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.8% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.3% | 9.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 28.3% | 24.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Iceni Secondary Academy
Downham Market Academy
Full profiles: Iceni Secondary Academy · Downham Market Academy