Hurworth SchoolCarmel College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Darlington.
Summary of the comparison
Hurworth School and Carmel College are secondary schools in Darlington.
Hurworth School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Carmel College scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Carmel College is ahead on our composite score.
Hurworth School was judged Good and Carmel College was judged exceptional.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 49.1 for Hurworth School and 53.5 for Carmel College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Hurworth School (53.6 in 2021-22, 49.1 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Carmel College (55.3 in 2021-22, 53.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DarlingtonHurworth School | DarlingtonCarmel College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C60/100 | B73/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 8 in Darlington | 1st of 8 in Darlington Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 645 | 1,365 | |
| Capacity | 635 | 1,382 | |
| Location | Darlington, DL2 2JG | Darlington, DL3 8RW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 49.1 | 53.5 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 52.4% | 60.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 73.0% | 80.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 7.9% | 73.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.83 | 4.78 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 126 | 208 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 122 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 34.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 33.9 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 12.6% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 645 | 1,365 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 25.9% | 19.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.7% | 17.6% | |
| SEN support | 16.9% | 11.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 6.2% | 2.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% | 5.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 27.6% | 14.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Hurworth School
Carmel College
Full profiles: Hurworth School · Carmel College