Hummersknott AcademyPolam Hall School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Darlington.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Hummersknott Academy and Polam Hall School in Darlington.
Hummersknott Academy scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Polam Hall School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Hummersknott Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Hummersknott Academy was judged the expected standard and Polam Hall School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 47.8 for Hummersknott Academy and 44.6 for Polam Hall School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Hummersknott Academy (52.3 in 2021-22, 47.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Polam Hall School (49.8 in 2021-22, 44.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DarlingtonHummersknott Academy | DarlingtonPolam Hall School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100Stronger figure | C56/100 | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 8 in Darlington Stronger figure | 4th of 8 in Darlington | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,230 | 841 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 882 | |
| Location | Darlington, DL3 8AR | Darlington, DL1 5PA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 47.8 Stronger figure | 44.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 57.3% Stronger figure | 37.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 74.3% Stronger figure | 63.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 47.3% Stronger figure | 33.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.24 Stronger figure | 4.03 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 241 | 90 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 59.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 6.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 105.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,230 | 841 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 23.0% | 29.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.7% | 14.3% | |
| SEN support | 17.5% | 11.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.8% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.7% Stronger figure | 8.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.8% Stronger figure | 23.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Hummersknott Academy
Polam Hall School
Full profiles: Hummersknott Academy · Polam Hall School