Hornsea School and Language CollegeWinifred Holtby Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Hornsea School and Language College and Winifred Holtby Academy are secondary schools.
Hornsea School and Language College scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Winifred Holtby Academy scores 40 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Hornsea School and Language College is ahead on our composite score.
Hornsea School and Language College was judged the expected standard and Winifred Holtby Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.5 for Hornsea School and Language College and 36.4 for Winifred Holtby Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Hornsea School and Language College (46.6 in 2021-22, 44.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Winifred Holtby Academy (42.8 in 2021-22, 36.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | HornseaHornsea School and Language College | HullWinifred Holtby Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D51/100Stronger figure | D40/100 | |
| Local ranking | 15th of 18 in East Riding of Yorkshire | 11th of 13 in Hull | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,257 | 1,320 | |
| Capacity | 1,449 | 1,350 | |
| Location | Hornsea, HU18 1DW | Hull, HU7 4PW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.5 Stronger figure | 36.4 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 42.5% Stronger figure | 29.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 64.3% Stronger figure | 50.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 50.2% Stronger figure | 7.1% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.98 Stronger figure | 3.02 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 207 | 241 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 61 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 29.6 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,257 | 1,320 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.1% | 45.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.4% | 2.8% | |
| SEN support | 4.6% | 19.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 7.0% | 3.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% Stronger figure | 11.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.3% Stronger figure | 35.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Hornsea School and Language College
Winifred Holtby Academy
Full profiles: Hornsea School and Language College · Winifred Holtby Academy