Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England SchoolTrinity Academy St. Edwards
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Barnsley.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School and Trinity Academy St. Edwards in Barnsley.
Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School scores 39 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Trinity Academy St. Edwards scores 76 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Trinity Academy St. Edwards is ahead on our composite score.
Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School was judged in need of attention and Trinity Academy St. Edwards was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.2 for Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School and 53.4 for Trinity Academy St. Edwards.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School (42.8 in 2021-22, 37.2 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BarnsleyHoly Trinity Catholic and Church of England School | BarnsleyTrinity Academy St. Edwards | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F39/100 | B76/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 11th of 11 in Barnsley | 5th of 11 in Barnsley Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-16 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,108 | 882 | |
| Capacity | 1,150 | 900 | |
| Location | Barnsley, S71 2LF | Barnsley, S70 6FP | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.2 | 53.4 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 23.3% | 65.5% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 43.6% | 80.1% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 133 | 171 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 48.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 2.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 102.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,148 | 717 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 34.5% | 25.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.2% | 9.3% | |
| SEN support | 15.2% | 9.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 4.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.7% | 7.2% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.4% | 18.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School
Trinity Academy St. Edwards
Full profiles: Holy Trinity Catholic and Church of England School · Trinity Academy St. Edwards