Holme Court SchoolCastle School, Cambridge
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Cambridge.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Holme Court School and Castle School, Cambridge in Cambridge.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Holme Court School was judged Good and Castle School, Cambridge was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 28.8 for Holme Court School and 0.2 for Castle School, Cambridge.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Castle School, Cambridge (1.5 in 2022-23, 0.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CambridgeHolme Court School | CambridgeCastle School, Cambridge | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Other independent special school | Community special school | |
| Age range | 7-16 | 2-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 40 | 233 | |
| Capacity | 73 | 234 | |
| Location | Cambridge, CB1 8DW | Cambridge, CB4 2EE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 28.8 Stronger figure | 0.2 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.08 Stronger figure | 0.00 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 6 | 11 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 88.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 85.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 49 | 235 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 0.0% | 45.4% | |
| English as an additional language | Not reported | 20.4% | |
| SEN support | 24.5% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 75.5% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | Not reported | 12.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | Not reported | 37.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Castle School, Cambridge
Full profiles: Holme Court School · Castle School, Cambridge