Hill Park SchoolHerons Dale School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Hill Park School and Herons Dale School.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Hill Park School was judged Outstanding and Herons Dale School was judged Good.
On the share of pupils meeting the expected standard in reading, writing and maths at Key Stage 2, the latest published figures are 0.0% for Hill Park School and 0.0% for Herons Dale School.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has held broadly level at Hill Park School (0.0% in 2022-23, 0.0% in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Herons Dale School (0.0% in 2022-23, 0.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BrightonHill Park School | Shoreham-by-SeaHerons Dale School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community special school | Community special school | |
| Age range | 4-16 | 4-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 264 | 145 | |
| Capacity | Not reported | 130 | |
| Location | Brighton, BN41 2FU | Shoreham-by-Sea, BN43 6TN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 3.4 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 2.8% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 8.3% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.17 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 36 | Not reported | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 264 | 145 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 43.9% | 32.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.1% | 8.3% | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 13.2% | 11.7% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 40.0% | 34.8% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Hill Park School
Herons Dale School
Full profiles: Hill Park School · Herons Dale School