Highfield Leadership AcademyArmfield Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Blackpool.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Highfield Leadership Academy and Armfield Academy in Blackpool.
Highfield Leadership Academy scores 30 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Armfield Academy scores 42 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Armfield Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Highfield Leadership Academy was judged Requires improvement and Armfield Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 30.0 for Highfield Leadership Academy and 35.6 for Armfield Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Highfield Leadership Academy (37.7 in 2021-22, 30.0 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Armfield Academy (36.1 in 2022-23, 35.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BlackpoolHighfield Leadership Academy | BlackpoolArmfield Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F30/100 | D42/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 6th of 8 in Blackpool | 4th of 8 in Blackpool Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 3-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 681 | 1,215 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 1,220 | |
| Location | Blackpool, FY4 3JZ | Blackpool, FY4 1TL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 30.0 | 35.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 19.6% | 19.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 42.1% | 44.7% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 25.2% | 52.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.67 | 3.29 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 107 | 152 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 45.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 102.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 101.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 681 | 1,215 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 56.0% | 39.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 11.2% | 5.3% | |
| SEN support | 21.0% | 8.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.5% | 3.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 16.4% | 8.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 46.9% | 26.7% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Highfield Leadership Academy
Armfield Academy
Full profiles: Highfield Leadership Academy · Armfield Academy