Harefield SchoolThe Reach Free School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Harefield School and The Reach Free School are secondary schools.
Harefield School scores 41 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and The Reach Free School scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Reach Free School is ahead on our composite score.
Harefield School was judged the expected standard and The Reach Free School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.1 for Harefield School and 44.2 for The Reach Free School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Harefield School (36.1 in 2021-22, 37.1 in 2024-25) and has risen at The Reach Free School (41.3 in 2021-22, 44.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | UxbridgeHarefield School | RickmansworthThe Reach Free School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D41/100 | C57/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 19th of 22 in Hillingdon | 55th of 81 in Hertfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 254 | 753 | |
| Capacity | 1,000 | 840 | |
| Location | Uxbridge, UB9 6ET | Rickmansworth, WD3 8AB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.1 | 44.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 20.0% | 35.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 46.7% | 62.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 8.9% | 69.7% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.20 | 4.11 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 45 | 119 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 9 | 51 | |
| A-level average points | 33.0 Stronger figure | 30.7 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 32.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 11.8% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 254 | 753 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 49.4% | 21.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 15.4% | 17.1% | |
| SEN support | 22.4% | 19.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.5% | 5.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 13.0% | 9.2% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 41.6% | 25.6% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Harefield School
The Reach Free School
Full profiles: Harefield School · The Reach Free School