Great Park AcademyPonteland High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Great Park Academy and Ponteland High School.
Great Park Academy scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Ponteland High School scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average). Great Park Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Great Park Academy was judged Good and Ponteland High School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Great Park Academy (80.0% in 2022-23, 83.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Newcastle-upon-TyneGreat Park Academy | PontelandPonteland High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C64/100Stronger figure | C63/100 | |
| Local ranking | 6th of 17 in Newcastle upon Tyne | 5th of 27 in Northumberland | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Free schools | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Middle deemed secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 9-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 327 | 1,543 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 1,600 | |
| Location | Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE13 9FR | Ponteland, NE20 9EG | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | Not reported | 53.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | Not reported | 55.5% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | Not reported | 77.1% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | Not reported | 53.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | Not reported | 4.81 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | Not reported | 245 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 83.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 28.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 109.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 125 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 33.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 34.5 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 10.8% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 327 | 1,543 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 10.1% | 12.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 10.1% | 3.4% | |
| SEN support | 10.1% | 8.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.1% | 2.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.3% Stronger figure | 6.5% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 7.6% Stronger figure | 14.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Great Park Academy
Ponteland High School
Full profiles: Great Park Academy · Ponteland High School