George Stephenson High SchoolNorth Gosforth Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.
Summary of the comparison
George Stephenson High School and North Gosforth Academy are secondary schools in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.
George Stephenson High School scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and North Gosforth Academy scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average). George Stephenson High School is ahead on our composite score.
George Stephenson High School was judged Good and North Gosforth Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.0 for George Stephenson High School and 43.9 for North Gosforth Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at George Stephenson High School (51.7 in 2021-22, 48.0 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at North Gosforth Academy (45.5 in 2021-22, 43.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Newcastle-upon-TyneGeorge Stephenson High School | Newcastle-upon-TyneNorth Gosforth Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D53/100Stronger figure | D49/100 | |
| Local ranking | 9th of 15 in North Tyneside Stronger figure | 13th of 15 in North Tyneside | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,160 | 562 | |
| Capacity | 1,227 | 600 | |
| Location | Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE12 6SA | Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE13 6EJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.0 Stronger figure | 43.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 42.0% Stronger figure | 40.2% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 63.7% Stronger figure | 60.9% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 20.7% | 42.4% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.14 Stronger figure | 3.96 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 193 | 92 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 48 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 33.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 35.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,160 | 562 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 27.5% | 38.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.2% | 3.7% | |
| SEN support | 7.1% | 17.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.2% | 4.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.1% | 8.6% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.6% Stronger figure | 26.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
George Stephenson High School
North Gosforth Academy
Full profiles: George Stephenson High School · North Gosforth Academy