Freman CollegeKing James Academy Royston
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Freman College and King James Academy Royston.
Freman College scores 67 out of 100 (grade C, average) and King James Academy Royston scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Freman College is ahead on our composite score.
Freman College was judged Good and King James Academy Royston was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.1 for Freman College and 40.3 for King James Academy Royston.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Freman College (56.6 in 2021-22, 53.1 in 2024-25) and has fallen at King James Academy Royston (43.2 in 2021-22, 40.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BuntingfordFreman College | RoystonKing James Academy Royston | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C67/100Stronger figure | C60/100 | |
| Local ranking | 32nd of 81 in Hertfordshire Stronger figure | 47th of 81 in Hertfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 13-18 | 9-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,022 | 939 | |
| Capacity | 903 | 1,321 | |
| Location | Buntingford, SG9 9BT | Royston, SG8 7JH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.1 Stronger figure | 40.3 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 52.5% Stronger figure | 34.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 75.7% Stronger figure | 52.7% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 27.4% Stronger figure | 24.7% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.63 Stronger figure | 3.52 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 259 | 93 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 51.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 102.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 90 2024-25 | Not reported2023-24 | |
| A-level average points | 36.8 2024-25 · England 35.0 | Not reported2023-24 | |
| A-level average grade | B- 2024-25 | Not reported2023-24 | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 38.4 2024-25 · England 35.8 | Not reported2023-24 | |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 15.5% 2024-25 · England 17.5% | Not reported2023-24 | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,022 | 939 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 12.1% | 21.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.8% | 6.5% | |
| SEN support | 14.7% | 13.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.3% Stronger figure | 7.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.6% | 20.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Freman College
King James Academy Royston
Full profiles: Freman College · King James Academy Royston