Emmanuel CollegeThe Independent Grammar School:Durham
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Emmanuel College and The Independent Grammar School:Durham.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Emmanuel College was judged exceptional and The Independent Grammar School:Durham was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 60.1 for Emmanuel College and 10.9 for The Independent Grammar School:Durham.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Emmanuel College (58.7 in 2021-22, 60.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | GatesheadEmmanuel College | Esh WinningThe Independent Grammar School:Durham | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Independent SchoolStronger figure | Independent School | |
| School type | City technology college | Other independent school | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,564 | 132 | |
| Capacity | 1,450 | 150 | |
| Location | Gateshead, NE11 0AN | Esh Winning, DH7 9QF | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 60.1 Stronger figure | 10.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 74.3% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 88.4% Stronger figure | 18.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 84.6% Stronger figure | 31.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.69 Stronger figure | 1.23 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 241 | 16 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 119 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 37.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 39.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 21.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,543 | 132 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.4% | 0.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 22.9% | Not reported | |
| SEN support | 13.3% | 9.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.8% | 7.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.4% | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 17.2% | Not reported | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Emmanuel College
Full profiles: Emmanuel College · The Independent Grammar School:Durham