Elms SchoolPortal House School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Dover.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Elms School and Portal House School in Dover.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Elms School was judged Good and Portal House School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 4.8 for Elms School and 13.2 for Portal House School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Elms School (0.8 in 2021-22, 4.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Portal House School (18.2 in 2021-22, 13.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DoverElms School | DoverPortal House School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation special school | Community special school | |
| Age range | 5-16 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Boys | |
| Pupils on roll | 131 | 80 | |
| Capacity | Not reported | 80 | |
| Location | Dover, CT17 9PS | Dover, CT15 6SS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 4.8 | 13.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 15.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.17 | 0.68 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 21 | 20 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 93.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 85.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 138 | 75 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 87.7% | 69.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.4% | 1.3% | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 22.5% Stronger figure | 29.4% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 66.2% | 63.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Elms School
Portal House School
Full profiles: Elms School · Portal House School