Eggbuckland Community CollegeSt Boniface's RC College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Plymouth.
Summary of the comparison
Eggbuckland Community College and St Boniface's RC College are secondary schools in Plymouth.
Eggbuckland Community College scores 43 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and St Boniface's RC College scores 47 out of 100 (grade D, below average). St Boniface's RC College is ahead on our composite score.
Eggbuckland Community College was judged Requires improvement and St Boniface's RC College was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 42.3 for Eggbuckland Community College and 39.0 for St Boniface's RC College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Eggbuckland Community College (43.5 in 2021-22, 42.3 in 2024-25) and has fallen at St Boniface's RC College (41.6 in 2021-22, 39.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | PlymouthEggbuckland Community College | PlymouthSt Boniface's RC College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D43/100 | D47/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 15th of 19 in Plymouth | 14th of 19 in Plymouth Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Boys | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,031 | 392 | |
| Capacity | 1,100 | 400 | |
| Location | Plymouth, PL6 5YB | Plymouth, PL5 3AG | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 42.3 Stronger figure | 39.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 37.9% Stronger figure | 25.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 67.5% Stronger figure | 52.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 31.4% Stronger figure | 19.7% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.72 Stronger figure | 3.23 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 169 | 76 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 37 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 20.9 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 24.7 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 0.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,031 | 392 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 21.7% | 34.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.6% | 15.1% | |
| SEN support | 12.0% | 18.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.8% | 6.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.4% | 10.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.2% Stronger figure | 30.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Eggbuckland Community College
St Boniface's RC College
Full profiles: Eggbuckland Community College · St Boniface's RC College