E-ACT Shenley AcademyBournville School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Birmingham.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares E-ACT Shenley Academy and Bournville School in Birmingham.
E-ACT Shenley Academy scores 38 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Bournville School scores 35 out of 100 (grade F, weak). E-ACT Shenley Academy is ahead on our composite score.
E-ACT Shenley Academy was judged the expected standard and Bournville School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 32.9 for E-ACT Shenley Academy and 37.5 for Bournville School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at E-ACT Shenley Academy (42.3 in 2021-22, 32.9 in 2025-26) and has fallen at Bournville School (39.5 in 2021-22, 37.5 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirminghamE-ACT Shenley Academy | BirminghamBournville School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F38/100Stronger figure | F35/100 | |
| Local ranking | 80th of 89 in Birmingham Stronger figure | 85th of 89 in Birmingham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 746 | 660 | |
| Capacity | 965 | 1,163 | |
| Location | Birmingham, B29 4HE | Birmingham, B30 1SH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 32.9 | 37.5 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 27.9% | 29.4% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 40.4% | 56.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 136 | 109 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 54.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 790 | 691 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 60.6% | 64.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.7% | 24.3% | |
| SEN support | 23.5% | 23.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.5% | 2.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 13.6% | 11.3% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 40.0% | 35.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
E-ACT Shenley Academy
Bournville School
Full profiles: E-ACT Shenley Academy · Bournville School