Diss High SchoolThe Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School)
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Diss High School and The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School).
Diss High School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School) scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School) is ahead on our composite score.
Diss High School was judged Good and The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School) was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 43.0 for Diss High School and 45.9 for The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School).
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Diss High School (48.3 in 2021-22, 43.0 in 2025-26) and has risen at The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School) (43.7 in 2022-23, 45.9 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DissDiss High School | HarlestonThe Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School) | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C56/100 | C60/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 31st of 53 in Norfolk | 20th of 53 in Norfolk Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 3-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 877 | 824 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 973 | |
| Location | Diss, IP22 4DH | Harleston, IP20 9DD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 43.0 | 45.9 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 36.4% | 39.8% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 57.6% | 73.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 132 | 88 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 59.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 8.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 103.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 63 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 30.7 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 918 | 837 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.6% | 20.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 10.8% | 5.6% | |
| SEN support | 9.8% | 13.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.6% | 6.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.5% | 6.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.6% | 18.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Diss High School
The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School)
Full profiles: Diss High School · The Harleston Sancroft Academy (a 3-16 Church of England School)