Cressex Community SchoolSir William Borlase's Grammar School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Cressex Community School and Sir William Borlase's Grammar School are secondary schools.
Cressex Community School scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Sir William Borlase's Grammar School scores 84 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Sir William Borlase's Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Cressex Community School was judged Good and Sir William Borlase's Grammar School was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.7 for Cressex Community School and 72.4 for Sir William Borlase's Grammar School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Cressex Community School (47.6 in 2021-22, 50.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Sir William Borlase's Grammar School (77.4 in 2021-22, 72.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | High WycombeCressex Community School | MarlowSir William Borlase's Grammar School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C65/100 | B84/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 16th of 37 in Buckinghamshire | 7th of 37 in Buckinghamshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 762 | 1,205 | |
| Capacity | 803 | 1,085 | |
| Location | High Wycombe, HP12 4QA | Marlow, SL7 2BR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.7 | 72.4 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 52.4% | 96.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.4% | 99.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 4.8% | 80.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.01 | 6.87 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 147 | 151 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported2023-24 | 226 2024-25 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported2023-24 | 44.7 2024-25 · England 35.0 | |
| A-level average grade | Not reported2023-24 | B+ 2024-25 | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported2023-24 | 44.6 2024-25 · England 35.8 | |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported2023-24 | 44.4% 2024-25 · England 17.5% | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 762 | 1,205 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 29.3% | 3.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 57.3% | 11.4% | |
| SEN support | 15.9% | 5.5% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.9% | 0.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.5% | 5.6% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.0% | 14.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Cressex Community School
Sir William Borlase's Grammar School
Full profiles: Cressex Community School · Sir William Borlase's Grammar School