Cressex Community SchoolGreat Marlow School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Cressex Community School and Great Marlow School are secondary schools.
Cressex Community School scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Great Marlow School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Cressex Community School is ahead on our composite score.
Cressex Community School was judged Good and Great Marlow School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.7 for Cressex Community School and 47.9 for Great Marlow School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Cressex Community School (47.6 in 2021-22, 50.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Great Marlow School (50.0 in 2021-22, 47.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | High WycombeCressex Community School | MarlowGreat Marlow School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C65/100Stronger figure | C58/100 | |
| Local ranking | 16th of 37 in Buckinghamshire Stronger figure | 23rd of 37 in Buckinghamshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 762 | 1,428 | |
| Capacity | 803 | 1,180 | |
| Location | High Wycombe, HP12 4QA | Marlow, SL7 1JE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.7 Stronger figure | 47.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 52.4% Stronger figure | 47.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.4% | 70.1% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 4.8% | 18.2% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.01 | 4.01 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 147 | 231 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported2023-24 | 121 2024-25 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported2023-24 | 29.6 2024-25 · England 35.0 | |
| A-level average grade | Not reported2023-24 | C 2024-25 | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported2023-24 | 30.5 2024-25 · England 35.8 | |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported2023-24 | 1.2% 2024-25 · England 17.5% | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 762 | 1,428 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 29.3% | 16.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 57.3% | 9.2% | |
| SEN support | 15.9% | 11.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.9% | 4.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.5% Stronger figure | 8.7% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.0% | 20.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Cressex Community School
Great Marlow School
Full profiles: Cressex Community School · Great Marlow School