Cranbrook Education CampusSt James School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Exeter.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Cranbrook Education Campus and St James School in Exeter.
Cranbrook Education Campus scores 61 out of 100 (grade C, average) and St James School scores 61 out of 100 (grade C, average). Our score is the same for each of them on the data available.
Cranbrook Education Campus was judged Good and St James School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.2 for Cranbrook Education Campus and 49.2 for St James School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Cranbrook Education Campus (47.1 in 2021-22, 39.2 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at St James School (48.4 in 2021-22, 49.2 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ExeterCranbrook Education Campus | ExeterSt James School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C61/100 | C61/100 | |
| Local ranking | 9th of 41 in Devon | 8th of 41 in Devon Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 2-16 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,066 | 985 | |
| Capacity | 1,020 | 980 | |
| Location | Exeter, EX5 7EE | Exeter, EX4 8NN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.2 | 49.2 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 32.6% | 50.5% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 58.4% | 70.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 89 | 198 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 66.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 2.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 104.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 102.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,058 | 989 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 26.0% | 27.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.8% | 19.0% | |
| SEN support | 11.8% | 23.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 5.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.0% Stronger figure | 8.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.0% Stronger figure | 21.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Cranbrook Education Campus
St James School
Full profiles: Cranbrook Education Campus · St James School