Copleston High SchoolStoke High School - Ormiston Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Ipswich.
Summary of the comparison
Copleston High School and Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy are secondary schools in Ipswich.
Copleston High School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy scores 47 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Copleston High School is ahead on our composite score.
Copleston High School was judged Good and Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.9 for Copleston High School and 34.3 for Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Copleston High School (53.7 in 2021-22, 46.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy (38.2 in 2021-22, 34.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | IpswichCopleston High School | IpswichStoke High School - Ormiston Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C64/100Stronger figure | D47/100 | |
| Local ranking | 6th of 43 in Suffolk Stronger figure | 36th of 43 in Suffolk | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,937 | 790 | |
| Capacity | 1,780 | 860 | |
| Location | Ipswich, IP4 5HD | Ipswich, IP2 8PL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.9 Stronger figure | 34.3 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 48.1% Stronger figure | 21.5% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 70.0% Stronger figure | 37.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 30.9% Stronger figure | 13.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.15 Stronger figure | 2.86 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 320 | 144 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 149 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.9 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,937 | 790 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.0% | 40.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 15.4% | 40.0% | |
| SEN support | 8.6% | 11.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.9% | 4.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.4% Stronger figure | 11.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.1% Stronger figure | 29.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Copleston High School
Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy
Full profiles: Copleston High School · Stoke High School - Ormiston Academy