Comberton Village CollegeCambourne Village College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Cambridge.
Summary of the comparison
Comberton Village College and Cambourne Village College are secondary schools in Cambridge.
Comberton Village College scores 74 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Cambourne Village College scores 72 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Comberton Village College is ahead on our composite score.
Comberton Village College was judged exceptional and Cambourne Village College was judged exceptional.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 55.7 for Comberton Village College and 51.7 for Cambourne Village College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Comberton Village College (60.2 in 2021-22, 55.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Cambourne Village College (55.7 in 2021-22, 51.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CambridgeComberton Village College | CambridgeCambourne Village College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B74/100Stronger figure | B72/100 | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 34 in Cambridgeshire Stronger figure | 9th of 34 in Cambridgeshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Outstanding | Ofsted: Outstanding | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,962 | 1,461 | |
| Capacity | 1,700 | 1,250 | |
| Location | Cambridge, CB23 7DU | Cambridge, CB23 6FR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 55.7 Stronger figure | 51.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 58.6% Stronger figure | 56.9% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 76.4% Stronger figure | 72.2% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 46.5% | 50.4% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.96 Stronger figure | 4.66 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 297 | 248 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 178 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 37.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 37.5 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 15.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,962 | 1,461 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 12.3% | 16.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 10.5% | 24.0% | |
| SEN support | 4.4% | 8.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 7.6% | 4.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.9% Stronger figure | 7.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 15.1% Stronger figure | 15.5% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Comberton Village College
Cambourne Village College
Full profiles: Comberton Village College · Cambourne Village College