Clyst Vale Community CollegeSt Luke's Church of England School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Exeter.
Summary of the comparison
Clyst Vale Community College and St Luke's Church of England School are secondary schools in Exeter.
Clyst Vale Community College scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and St Luke's Church of England School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). St Luke's Church of England School is ahead on our composite score.
Clyst Vale Community College was judged Good and St Luke's Church of England School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.5 for Clyst Vale Community College and 45.3 for St Luke's Church of England School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Clyst Vale Community College (51.9 in 2021-22, 44.5 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at St Luke's Church of England School (47.1 in 2021-22, 45.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ExeterClyst Vale Community College | ExeterSt Luke's Church of England School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100 | C60/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 17th of 40 in Devon | 11th of 40 in Devon Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 936 | 853 | |
| Capacity | 1,124 | 980 | |
| Location | Exeter, EX5 3AJ | Exeter, EX1 3RD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.5 | 45.3 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 40.4% | 50.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 62.9% | 69.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 28.1% | 61.7% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.77 | 4.20 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 178 | 162 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 28 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 29.7 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 25.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 936 | 853 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 23.0% | 30.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.2% | 13.7% | |
| SEN support | 16.4% | 14.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 6.7% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.0% Stronger figure | 11.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.9% Stronger figure | 30.7% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Clyst Vale Community College
St Luke's Church of England School
Full profiles: Clyst Vale Community College · St Luke's Church of England School