Clitheroe Royal Grammar SchoolBowland High
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Clitheroe.
Summary of the comparison
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School and Bowland High are secondary schools in Clitheroe.
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School scores 81 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Bowland High scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average). Clitheroe Royal Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School was judged Outstanding and Bowland High was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 74.4 for Clitheroe Royal Grammar School and 47.8 for Bowland High.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Clitheroe Royal Grammar School (74.9 in 2021-22, 74.4 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Bowland High (49.4 in 2021-22, 47.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ClitheroeClitheroe Royal Grammar School | ClitheroeBowland High | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B81/100Stronger figure | C64/100 | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 80 in Lancashire Stronger figure | 17th of 80 in Lancashire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,475 | 615 | |
| Capacity | 1,613 | 575 | |
| Location | Clitheroe, BB7 2DJ | Clitheroe, BB7 4QS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 74.4 Stronger figure | 47.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 96.0% Stronger figure | 42.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 99.3% Stronger figure | 70.4% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 78.5% Stronger figure | 34.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 7.04 Stronger figure | 4.11 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 149 | 108 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 321 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 38.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 37.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 19.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,475 | 615 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 11.8% | 9.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.6% | 2.4% | |
| SEN support | 5.5% | 7.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.4% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.8% Stronger figure | 6.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 10.9% Stronger figure | 17.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School
Bowland High
Full profiles: Clitheroe Royal Grammar School · Bowland High