Cleaswell Hill SchoolCollingwood School & Media Arts College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Cleaswell Hill School and Collingwood School & Media Arts College.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Cleaswell Hill School was judged Outstanding and Collingwood School & Media Arts College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 2.5 for Cleaswell Hill School and 3.6 for Collingwood School & Media Arts College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Cleaswell Hill School (4.6 in 2021-22, 2.5 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Collingwood School & Media Arts College (3.3 in 2021-22, 3.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ChoppingtonCleaswell Hill School | MorpethCollingwood School & Media Arts College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community special school | Community special school | |
| Age range | 4-19 | 2-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 261 | 337 | |
| Capacity | 261 | 350 | |
| Location | Choppington, NE62 5DJ | Morpeth, NE61 2HA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 2.5 | 3.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.13 | 0.15 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 16 | 42 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 92.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 82.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 251 | 308 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 49.0% | 48.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.6% | 0.6% | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.6% Stronger figure | 17.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 29.0% Stronger figure | 40.1% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Cleaswell Hill School
Collingwood School & Media Arts College
Full profiles: Cleaswell Hill School · Collingwood School & Media Arts College