Claydon High SchoolStowupland High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Claydon High School and Stowupland High School are secondary schools.
Claydon High School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Stowupland High School scores 39 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Claydon High School is ahead on our composite score.
Claydon High School was judged the expected standard and Stowupland High School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 45.0 for Claydon High School and 41.1 for Stowupland High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Claydon High School (50.0 in 2021-22, 45.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | IpswichClaydon High School | StowmarketStowupland High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100Stronger figure | F39/100 | |
| Local ranking | 15th of 43 in Suffolk Stronger figure | 42nd of 43 in Suffolk | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 771 | 897 | |
| Capacity | 675 | 1,085 | |
| Location | Ipswich, IP6 0EG | Stowmarket, IP14 4BQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 45.0 Stronger figure | 41.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 41.6% Stronger figure | 39.9% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.2% Stronger figure | 59.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 27.9% | 31.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.97 Stronger figure | 3.52 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 154 | 173 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 28 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 21.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | D | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 27.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 11.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 771 | 897 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 20.5% | 27.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.2% | 4.0% | |
| SEN support | 12.3% | 11.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.5% | 5.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.6% Stronger figure | 10.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.0% Stronger figure | 27.1% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Claydon High School · Stowupland High School