City of London Academy (Southwark)The Charter School Bermondsey
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in London.
Summary of the comparison
City of London Academy (Southwark) and The Charter School Bermondsey are secondary schools in London.
City of London Academy (Southwark) scores 67 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Charter School Bermondsey scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). City of London Academy (Southwark) is ahead on our composite score.
City of London Academy (Southwark) was judged strong and The Charter School Bermondsey was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 52.9 for City of London Academy (Southwark) and 40.9 for The Charter School Bermondsey.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at City of London Academy (Southwark) (51.8 in 2021-22, 52.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at The Charter School Bermondsey (42.5 in 2021-22, 40.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LondonCity of London Academy (Southwark) | LondonThe Charter School Bermondsey | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C67/100Stronger figure | C56/100 | |
| Local ranking | 10th of 20 in Southwark Stronger figure | 16th of 20 in Southwark | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,589 | 497 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 600 | |
| Location | London, SE1 5LA | London, SE16 4EE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 52.9 Stronger figure | 40.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 57.8% Stronger figure | 32.2% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 78.3% Stronger figure | 52.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 57.8% | 76.3% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.92 Stronger figure | 3.80 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 230 | 59 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 154 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 37.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 37.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 13.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,576 | 470 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 55.5% | 63.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 20.2% | 22.1% | |
| SEN support | 15.6% | 27.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.0% | 7.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.9% Stronger figure | 11.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.8% Stronger figure | 37.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
City of London Academy (Southwark)
The Charter School Bermondsey
Full profiles: City of London Academy (Southwark) · The Charter School Bermondsey