Chosen Hill SchoolHenley Bank High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Gloucester.
Summary of the comparison
Chosen Hill School and Henley Bank High School are secondary schools in Gloucester.
Chosen Hill School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Henley Bank High School scores 66 out of 100 (grade C, average). Henley Bank High School is ahead on our composite score.
Chosen Hill School was judged the expected standard and Henley Bank High School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.6 for Chosen Hill School and 49.0 for Henley Bank High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Chosen Hill School (46.7 in 2021-22, 48.6 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Henley Bank High School (54.4 in 2021-22, 49.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | GloucesterChosen Hill School | GloucesterHenley Bank High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C56/100 | C66/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 40 in Gloucestershire | 13th of 40 in Gloucestershire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,292 | 876 | |
| Capacity | 1,490 | 850 | |
| Location | Gloucester, GL3 2PL | Gloucester, GL3 4QF | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.6 | 49.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 53.1% Stronger figure | 50.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 70.8% | 72.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 22.6% | 23.3% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.19 | 4.27 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 226 | 150 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 91 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 26.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 26.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 3.8% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,292 | 876 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.2% | 33.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 11.1% | 6.8% | |
| SEN support | 7.7% | 22.5% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.6% | 5.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.0% Stronger figure | 10.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.7% Stronger figure | 29.5% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Chosen Hill School
Henley Bank High School
Full profiles: Chosen Hill School · Henley Bank High School