Chew Valley SchoolE-Act Merchants' Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bristol.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Chew Valley School and E-Act Merchants' Academy in Bristol.
Chew Valley School scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and E-Act Merchants' Academy scores 19 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Chew Valley School is ahead on our composite score.
Chew Valley School was judged the expected standard and E-Act Merchants' Academy was judged Inadequate.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 49.8 for Chew Valley School and 29.5 for E-Act Merchants' Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Chew Valley School (51.6 in 2021-22, 49.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BristolChew Valley School | BristolE-Act Merchants' Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100Stronger figure | F19/100 | |
| Local ranking | 9th of 14 in Bath and North East Somerset | 23rd of 23 in Bristol | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | Ofsted: Inadequate | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 3-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,188 | 1,070 | |
| Capacity | 1,253 | 1,410 | |
| Location | Bristol, BS40 8QB | Bristol, BS13 9AJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 49.8 Stronger figure | 29.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 50.5% Stronger figure | 17.7% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 73.3% Stronger figure | 37.1% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 60.7% Stronger figure | 7.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.60 Stronger figure | 2.44 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 206 | 124 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 15.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 96.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 93.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 77 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 37.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 26.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,188 | 1,070 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 17.1% | 67.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.9% | 14.5% | |
| SEN support | 10.3% | 23.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.3% | 5.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.1% Stronger figure | 15.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.9% Stronger figure | 43.4% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Chew Valley School · E-Act Merchants' Academy