Chapel-en-le-Frith High SchoolBuxton Community School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School and Buxton Community School are secondary schools.
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Buxton Community School scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Chapel-en-le-Frith High School is ahead on our composite score.
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School was judged the expected standard and Buxton Community School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.9 for Chapel-en-le-Frith High School and 42.1 for Buxton Community School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Chapel-en-le-Frith High School (49.1 in 2021-22, 48.9 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at Buxton Community School (40.4 in 2023-24, 42.1 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | High PeakChapel-en-le-Frith High School | BuxtonBuxton Community School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C63/100Stronger figure | D50/100 | |
| Local ranking | 9th of 45 in Derbyshire Stronger figure | 31st of 45 in Derbyshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 941 | 954 | |
| Capacity | 950 | 1,331 | |
| Location | High Peak, SK23 0TQ | Buxton, SK17 9EA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.9 Stronger figure | 42.1 | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 47.6% Stronger figure | 32.6% | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 71.9% Stronger figure | 57.0% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 185 | 172 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 75 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 34.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 35.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 17.2% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 943 | 1,031 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.6% | 29.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.8% | 1.6% | |
| SEN support | 12.6% | 13.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 9.3% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.9% Stronger figure | 9.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.8% Stronger figure | 24.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School
Buxton Community School
Full profiles: Chapel-en-le-Frith High School · Buxton Community School