Central Education LtdWoodlands Meed
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Central Education Ltd and Woodlands Meed.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Central Education Ltd was judged Requires improvement and Woodlands Meed was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 7.7 for Central Education Ltd and 0.9 for Woodlands Meed.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Central Education Ltd (2.7 in 2021-22, 7.7 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Woodlands Meed (0.5 in 2021-22, 0.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Haywards HeathCentral Education Ltd | Burgess HillWoodlands Meed | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Other independent special school | Foundation special school | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 2-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 24 | 281 | |
| Capacity | 24 | 259 | |
| Location | Haywards Heath, RH17 7NJ | Burgess Hill, RH15 9EY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 7.7 Stronger figure | 0.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 11.1% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.50 Stronger figure | 0.07 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 9 | 24 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 24 | 281 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 0.0% | 32.6% | |
| English as an additional language | Not reported | 9.6% | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 99.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | Not reported | 9.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | Not reported | 33.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Woodlands Meed
Full profiles: Central Education Ltd · Woodlands Meed