Castle School, CambridgeHope Tree School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Castle School, Cambridge and Hope Tree School.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Castle School, Cambridge was judged Requires improvement and Hope Tree School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has held broadly level at Castle School, Cambridge (0.0% in 2022-23, 0.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CambridgeCastle School, Cambridge | CambridgeshireHope Tree School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Community special school | Other independent special school | |
| Age range | 2-19 | 7-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Girls | |
| Pupils on roll | 233 | 33 | |
| Capacity | 234 | 48 | |
| Location | Cambridge, CB4 2EE | Cambridgeshire, CB24 9NG | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 0.2 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.00 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 11 | Not reported | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 88.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 85.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 235 | 22 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 45.4% | 0.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 20.4% | Not reported | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 12.0% | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 37.2% | Not reported | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Castle School, Cambridge
Full profiles: Castle School, Cambridge · Hope Tree School