Castle School, CambridgeGretton School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Cambridge.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Castle School, Cambridge and Gretton School in Cambridge.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 0.2 for Castle School, Cambridge and 6.1 for Gretton School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Castle School, Cambridge (1.5 in 2022-23, 0.2 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Gretton School (9.7 in 2021-22, 6.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CambridgeCastle School, Cambridge | CambridgeGretton School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | ||
| School type | Community special school | Other independent special school | |
| Age range | 2-19 | 5-20 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 233 | 172 | |
| Capacity | 234 | 200 | |
| Location | Cambridge, CB4 2EE | Cambridge, CB3 0RX | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 0.2 | 6.1 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.00 | 0.19 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 11 | 20 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 88.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 85.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 235 | 158 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 45.4% | 0.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 20.4% | Not reported | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 12.0% | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 37.2% | Not reported | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Castle School, Cambridge
Full profiles: Castle School, Cambridge · Gretton School