Castle Donington CollegeChellaston Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Derby.
Summary of the comparison
Castle Donington College and Chellaston Academy are secondary schools in Derby.
Castle Donington College scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Chellaston Academy scores 61 out of 100 (grade C, average). Chellaston Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Castle Donington College was judged Good and Chellaston Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.7 for Castle Donington College and 53.1 for Chellaston Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Castle Donington College (49.7 in 2021-22, 46.7 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at Chellaston Academy (54.1 in 2021-22, 53.1 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DerbyCastle Donington College | DerbyChellaston Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100 | C61/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 23rd of 44 in Leicestershire | 4th of 16 in Derby | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 684 | 1,790 | |
| Capacity | 645 | Not reported | |
| Location | Derby, DE74 2LN | Derby, DE73 5UB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.7 | 53.1 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 51.8% | 56.2% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.3% | 74.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 137 | 292 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 169 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 36.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 37.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 16.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 684 | 1,815 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.1% | 20.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.0% | 8.1% | |
| SEN support | 16.5% | 10.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.0% | 2.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.2% | 7.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.4% | 15.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Castle Donington College
Chellaston Academy
Full profiles: Castle Donington College · Chellaston Academy