Casterton College RutlandBourne Grammar School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Casterton College Rutland and Bourne Grammar School are secondary schools.
Casterton College Rutland scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Bourne Grammar School scores 76 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Bourne Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
Casterton College Rutland was judged Good and Bourne Grammar School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.7 for Casterton College Rutland and 68.6 for Bourne Grammar School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Casterton College Rutland (53.0 in 2021-22, 48.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Bourne Grammar School (71.8 in 2021-22, 68.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | StamfordCasterton College Rutland | BourneBourne Grammar School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C63/100 | B76/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | 6th of 54 in Lincolnshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 872 | 1,740 | |
| Capacity | 900 | 1,700 | |
| Location | Stamford, PE9 4AT | Bourne, PE10 9JE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.7 | 68.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 50.3% | 92.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 74.1% | 97.5% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 64.8% | 87.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.50 | 6.62 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 193 | 239 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 265 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 39.4 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 39.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 23.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 872 | 1,740 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 17.0% | 6.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.9% | 7.9% | |
| SEN support | 18.4% | 11.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.6% | 0.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.2% | 4.7% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.3% | 10.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Casterton College Rutland
Bourne Grammar School
Full profiles: Casterton College Rutland · Bourne Grammar School