Carmel CollegePolam Hall School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Darlington.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Carmel College and Polam Hall School in Darlington.
Carmel College scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Polam Hall School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Carmel College is ahead on our composite score.
Carmel College was judged exceptional and Polam Hall School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.5 for Carmel College and 44.6 for Polam Hall School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Carmel College (55.3 in 2021-22, 53.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Polam Hall School (49.8 in 2021-22, 44.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DarlingtonCarmel College | DarlingtonPolam Hall School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B73/100Stronger figure | C56/100 | |
| Local ranking | 1st of 8 in Darlington Stronger figure | 4th of 8 in Darlington | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,365 | 841 | |
| Capacity | 1,382 | 882 | |
| Location | Darlington, DL3 8RW | Darlington, DL1 5PA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.5 Stronger figure | 44.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 60.1% Stronger figure | 37.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 80.8% Stronger figure | 63.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 73.6% Stronger figure | 33.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.78 Stronger figure | 4.03 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 208 | 90 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 59.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 6.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 105.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 122 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 12.6% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,365 | 841 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.2% | 29.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 17.6% | 14.3% | |
| SEN support | 11.6% | 11.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.1% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 5.9% Stronger figure | 8.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 14.5% Stronger figure | 23.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Carmel College
Polam Hall School
Full profiles: Carmel College · Polam Hall School