Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College AcademyAppleton Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bradford.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy and Appleton Academy in Bradford.
Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy scores 33 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Appleton Academy scores 42 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Appleton Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy was judged in need of attention and Appleton Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 36.6 for Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy and 35.1 for Appleton Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy (39.6 in 2021-22, 36.6 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Appleton Academy (39.0 in 2021-22, 35.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BradfordButtershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy | BradfordAppleton Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F33/100 | D42/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 31st of 35 in Bradford | 27th of 35 in Bradford Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 3-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,415 | 1,254 | |
| Capacity | 1,610 | 1,378 | |
| Location | Bradford, BD6 3PX | Bradford, BD12 8AL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 36.6 Stronger figure | 35.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 31.2% Stronger figure | 27.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 48.9% Stronger figure | 42.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.4% Stronger figure | 15.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.21 Stronger figure | 2.84 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 282 | 163 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 63.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 12.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 107.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 106.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,415 | 1,254 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 46.3% | 52.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.4% | 10.4% | |
| SEN support | 19.1% | 19.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.4% | 6.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 13.7% | 9.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 38.8% | 26.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy
Appleton Academy
Full profiles: Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College Academy · Appleton Academy