Burscough Priory AcademyOrmskirk School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Ormskirk.
Summary of the comparison
Burscough Priory Academy and Ormskirk School are secondary schools in Ormskirk.
Burscough Priory Academy scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Ormskirk School scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Burscough Priory Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Burscough Priory Academy was judged Good and Ormskirk School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.8 for Burscough Priory Academy and 42.4 for Ormskirk School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Burscough Priory Academy (50.1 in 2021-22, 48.8 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Ormskirk School (43.5 in 2022-23, 42.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | OrmskirkBurscough Priory Academy | OrmskirkOrmskirk School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C63/100Stronger figure | D51/100 | |
| Local ranking | 20th of 80 in Lancashire Stronger figure | 50th of 80 in Lancashire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 707 | 1,212 | |
| Capacity | 770 | 1,590 | |
| Location | Ormskirk, L40 7RZ | Ormskirk, L39 2AT | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.8 Stronger figure | 42.4 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 51.9% Stronger figure | 40.1% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 72.9% Stronger figure | 60.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 27.9% Stronger figure | 14.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.40 Stronger figure | 3.63 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 129 | 212 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 63 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 24.7 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | D+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 26.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 19.4% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 707 | 1,212 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 16.1% | 21.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.0% | 5.1% | |
| SEN support | 8.8% | 14.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.7% | 1.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.9% Stronger figure | 11.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.4% Stronger figure | 33.4% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Burscough Priory Academy
Ormskirk School
Full profiles: Burscough Priory Academy · Ormskirk School