Broomhill Bank SchoolOakley School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Tunbridge Wells.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Broomhill Bank School and Oakley School in Tunbridge Wells.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Broomhill Bank School was judged Good and Oakley School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has held broadly level at Oakley School (0.0% in 2022-23, 0.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Tunbridge WellsBroomhill Bank School | Tunbridge WellsOakley School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation special school | Community special school | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 4-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 392 | 224 | |
| Capacity | 440 | Not reported | |
| Location | Tunbridge Wells, TN3 0TB | Tunbridge Wells, TN2 4NE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 8.6 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 8.3% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 15.0% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.78 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 60 | 19 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 392 | 224 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 38.5% | 47.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.0% | 12.1% | |
| SEN support | 0.3% | 0.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 99.7% | 99.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 19.3% | 8.7% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 48.1% | 29.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Broomhill Bank School
Oakley School
Full profiles: Broomhill Bank School · Oakley School