Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary SchoolWykeham Church of England Primary School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Scarborough.
Summary of the comparison
Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary School and Wykeham Church of England Primary School are primary schools in Scarborough.
Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary School scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Wykeham Church of England Primary School scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary School is ahead on our composite score.
Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary School was judged Good and Wykeham Church of England Primary School was judged Requires improvement.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has held broadly level at Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary School (31.0% in 2022-23, 33.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ScarboroughBrompton and Sawdon Community Primary School | ScarboroughWykeham Church of England Primary School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100Stronger figure | D51/100 | |
| Local ranking | 106th of 282 in North Yorkshire Stronger figure | 278th of 282 in North Yorkshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 3-11 | 4-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 60 | 60 | |
| Capacity | 70 | 56 | |
| Location | Scarborough, YO13 9DL | Scarborough, YO13 9QB | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 33.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 11.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 104.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 102.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 60 | 60 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 13.3% | 15.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN support | 18.3% | 20.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.3% | 3.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.3% | 3.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 9.7% | 5.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Brompton and Sawdon Community Primary School · Wykeham Church of England Primary School