Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary SchoolSt Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Wallingford.
Summary of the comparison
Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School and St Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford are primary schools in Wallingford.
Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School scores 67 out of 100 (grade C, average) and St Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford scores 69 out of 100 (grade C, average). St Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford is ahead on our composite score.
Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School was judged Good and St Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has fallen at Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School (56.0% in 2022-23, 48.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | WallingfordBrightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School | WallingfordSt Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C67/100 | C69/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 52nd of 237 in Oxfordshire Stronger figure | 233rd of 237 in Oxfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 5-11 | 2-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 163 | 145 | |
| Capacity | 150 | 180 | |
| Location | Wallingford, OX10 0QH | Wallingford, OX10 0GF | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 48.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 9.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 111.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 176 | 173 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 9.7% | 17.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.5% | 8.7% | |
| SEN support | 10.8% | 30.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.1% | 3.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.1% Stronger figure | 5.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 10.4% | 9.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School
St Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford
Full profiles: Brightwell-Cum-Sotwell Church of England Primary School · St Nicholas CofE Primary School , Wallingford