Breckland SchoolMildenhall College Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Breckland School and Mildenhall College Academy are secondary schools.
Breckland School scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Mildenhall College Academy scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Mildenhall College Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Breckland School was judged Good and Mildenhall College Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 42.4 for Breckland School and 37.4 for Mildenhall College Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Breckland School (44.6 in 2021-22, 42.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Mildenhall College Academy (42.1 in 2021-22, 37.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BrandonBreckland School | MildenhallMildenhall College Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D53/100 | D54/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 43 in Suffolk | 25th of 43 in Suffolk Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Free schools | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 613 | 1,338 | |
| Capacity | 620 | 1,430 | |
| Location | Brandon, IP27 0PE | Mildenhall, IP28 7JX | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 42.4 Stronger figure | 37.4 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 32.7% Stronger figure | 27.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.6% Stronger figure | 51.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.8% | 59.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.72 Stronger figure | 3.34 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 104 | 222 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 44 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 33.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 35.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 22.7% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 613 | 1,338 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.6% | 24.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 10.9% | 9.0% | |
| SEN support | 10.6% | 13.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.7% | 3.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.8% | 8.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 29.1% | 22.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Breckland School
Mildenhall College Academy
Full profiles: Breckland School · Mildenhall College Academy