Breckenbrough SchoolHurworth House School Aspris Children's services
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Breckenbrough School and Hurworth House School Aspris Children's services.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Breckenbrough School was judged Good and Hurworth House School Aspris Children's services was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 20.1 for Breckenbrough School and 1.8 for Hurworth House School Aspris Children's services.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Breckenbrough School (23.3 in 2021-22, 20.1 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Hurworth House School Aspris Children's services (3.4 in 2021-22, 1.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ThirskBreckenbrough School | DarlingtonHurworth House School Aspris Children's services | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Non-maintained special school | Other independent special school | |
| Age range | 9-19 | 5-19 | |
| Gender | Boys | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 71 | 70 | |
| Capacity | 70 | 80 | |
| Location | Thirsk, YO7 4EN | Darlington, DL2 2AD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 20.1 Stronger figure | 1.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.04 Stronger figure | 0.16 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 9 | 15 | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 72 | 72 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 17.9% | 0.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.4% | Not reported | |
| SEN support | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 100.0% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.6% | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.5% | Not reported | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Breckenbrough School
Full profiles: Breckenbrough School · Hurworth House School Aspris Children's services