Bradley Stoke Community SchoolWinterbourne Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bristol.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Bradley Stoke Community School and Winterbourne Academy in Bristol.
Bradley Stoke Community School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Winterbourne Academy scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Bradley Stoke Community School is ahead on our composite score.
Bradley Stoke Community School was judged Good and Winterbourne Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.6 for Bradley Stoke Community School and 52.0 for Winterbourne Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Bradley Stoke Community School (53.8 in 2021-22, 50.6 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Winterbourne Academy (52.6 in 2021-22, 52.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BristolBradley Stoke Community School | BristolWinterbourne Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C64/100Stronger figure | C60/100 | |
| Local ranking | 1st of 16 in South Gloucestershire Stronger figure | 7th of 16 in South Gloucestershire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,389 | 1,783 | |
| Capacity | 1,335 | 1,880 | |
| Location | Bristol, BS32 9BS | Bristol, BS36 1JL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.6 | 52.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 56.4% | 58.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.8% | 73.7% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 19.0% | 22.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.24 | 4.46 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 179 | 293 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 73.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 3.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 109.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 102 | 112 | |
| A-level average points | 34.2 | 35.2 Stronger figure | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 36.8 Stronger figure | 36.3 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 23.8% Stronger figure | 20.3% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,389 | 1,783 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 11.7% | 13.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 26.7% | 10.7% | |
| SEN support | 11.5% | 14.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.1% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.8% Stronger figure | 8.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 14.8% Stronger figure | 21.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bradley Stoke Community School
Winterbourne Academy
Full profiles: Bradley Stoke Community School · Winterbourne Academy